PT Mobile Logo

Search form




Jose R. Maldonado, M.D., assistant professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at Stanford University, was named the 2001 recipient of the Psychiatric Times Teacher of the Year award. The award was presented to Maldonado at the 14th Annual U.S. Psychiatric & Mental Health Congress in honor of his outstanding achievements in and steadfast dedication to psychiatry.

For his work with geriatric psychiatry, Dilip V. Jeste, M.D., has been appointed to the endowed Estelle and Edgar Levi Memorial Chair in Aging at University of California, San Diego (UCSD). Jeste is founder and chief of UCSD's division of geriatric psychiatry and Founding President of the International College of Geriatric Psychoneuropharmacology. He focuses his research on schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders in late life and their successful treatment with the use of safer and more effective drug and psychosocial treatments.

Helping people of all ages with schizophrenia to reintegrate into society is the focus of the Eli Lilly and Company-sponsored Reintegration Awards. Recognizing both patient advocates and mental health care professionals, these awards provide grants for their recipients' respective reintegration programs. In the Honorary category, the 2001 "Public Eye Recipient" is Elizabeth Baxter, M.D., a Tennessee-based psychiatrist who, while suffering from psychosis herself, is a mental health advocate on the national level. The 2001 Reintegration Awards were also given in the categories of Advocacy (New Jersey Association for Mental Health Agencies Inc. in Manasquan, N.J.), Clinical Medicine (The Whole Person Family Medicine Clinic in Torrance, Calif.), Education (The Guidance Center Supported Education Program in New Rochelle, N.Y.), Housing (Fred Geilfuss, Scott Reithel, Jack Rosenberg in Milwaukee), Occupational (Restoration Project in Acton, Mass.) and Social Support/Rehabilitation (Fountain House in New York City).

For advancing the understanding of the physiology of human cognition, Itzhak Fried, M.D., was named a Fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. A neuroscientist and neurosurgeon at University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), Fried studies single-cell activity in the brain and has helped over 80% of patients at UCLA whose temporal lobe epilepsy was previously uncontrolled by medications to become seizure-free after surgery.

Also receiving honors are two national level mental health associations. Both the National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression (NARSAD) and the National Mental Health Association (NMHA) were named on Worth magazine's list of "America's 100 Best Charities."

Assuming new professional roles recently are Steven E. Hyman, M.D., Eliot Sorel, M.D., and Laura W. Roberts, M.D. Hyman, past director of the National Institute of Mental Health, has taken on the role of Provost at Harvard University, where he previously served as professor and director of research in the department of psychiatry at Massachusetts General Hospital. Sorel, a private-practice psychiatric physician in Washington, D.C. for over 20 years and clinical professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at George Washington University School of Medicine, has been installed as the new president of the Medical Society of the District of Columbia. Roberts, associate professor and vice chair in psychiatry at University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center, was chosen as the Editor in Chief of Academic Psychiatry. She has worked with the journal as a contributing writer, peer-reviewer, editorial assistant and guest editor since 1994 -- RR

Loading comments...

By clicking Accept, you agree to become a member of the UBM Medica Community.