Psychiatric Times Welcomes New Editorial Board Members!

Psychiatric Times, Vol 32 No 5, Volume 32, Issue 5

It is truly an honor-and a pleasure-to welcome 5 psychiatrists to the Editorial Board of Psychiatric Times.

It is truly an honor-and a pleasure-to welcome 5 psychiatrists to the Editorial Board of Psychiatric Times. They now join the venerable group led by Editor in Chief Allan Tasman, MD, and Deputy Editor, Michelle Riba, MD, MS, whose names grace our masthead.-Susan Kweskin

Renato D. Alarcón, MD, MPH, is Emeritus Professor and Consultant in the Department of Psychiatry and Psychology at Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, Rochester, Minnesota. He also holds the Honorio Delgado Chair at the Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia in Lima, Perú. He did his postgraduate training (including his MPH degree) at Johns Hopkins, and he held high academic positions in Lima, the University of Alabama in Birmingham, and Emory University. Dr Alarcón is the recipient of the APA’s Simon Bolivar (1999) and George Tarjan (2011) Awards, he is an APA and ACP Distinguished Life Fellow, and a Life Achievement awardee of the Society for the Study of Psychiatry and Culture. He is a prolific author/editor of 18 books, 80 book chapters, and nearly 300 peer-reviewed articles. He is Associate Editor of Transcultural Psychiatry and Asia-Pacific Psychiatry, a Board Member of World Psychiatry, and Senior Editor of the Latin American Textbook of Psychiatry. He has served on many task forces and medical boards, including the DSM-5 work group on personality disorders and the study group on cultural issues. Currently, he is a member of the APA’s DSM Steering Committee. His fields of academic and clinical interests include mood and personality disorders, psychiatric diagnosis, global mental health, and cultural psychiatry.

Robert J. Boland, MD, joins us from Harvard Medical School, where he serves as Vice Chair for Education in the Department of Psychiatry at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. His specialty interests are psychosomatic medicine and geriatric psychiatry.

Dr Boland began his career at the Alpert School of Medicine at Brown University, where he was Associate Director for Residency Training, Director of the Clerkship for Psychiatry, and ultimately Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior and Chief of Education and Psychiatry at the Providence VA Medical Center. This past summer, he left Providence for Boston, where he also serves as Vice Chair for Education in the Department of Psychiatry at Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School. He holds leadership roles in several professional societies devoted to his interests (medical education and psychosomatic medicine) and will become President of The Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine in 2017. He is currently president of AADPRT-the American Association of Directors of Psychiatry Residency Training. Along the way, Dr Boland has won a number of awards for excellence in teaching.

Frank V. deGruy III, MD, is the Woodward-Chisholm Professor and Chair of the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine-a position he has held since 1999. A key focus of Dr deGruy’s research career has been difficulties in implementing behavioral health care in primary care. He was one of the first to demonstrate and write about the indivisibility of the psychological and the biomedical, and the psychic and the somatic, in primary care, and he helped develop the PRIME-MED for detection of mental disorders in primary care, which led to development of the PHQ.

He has served on dozens of national advisory boards and steering committees, including the MacArthur Foundation Initiative on Depression and Primary Care and the National Network of Depression Centers. Among his ongoing research projects is the AHRQ Academy Web portal,, which serves as a resource hub for the field of integrating behavioral health and primary care. He was elected to the IOM in 2010. An avid skier, when he isn’t working, Dr deGruy can be found on the black diamond slopes of the Rockies.

Michael B. First, MD, is Professor of Clinical Psychiatry at Columbia University and a Research Psychiatrist at the Biometrics Department at the New York State Psychiatric Institute. He maintains a schematherapy and psychopharmacology practice in Manhattan. Dr First is a nationally and internationally recognized expert on psychiatric diagnosis and assessment issues, and he conducts expert forensic psychiatric evaluations in both civil and criminal matters-including the 2006 trial of the 9/11 terrorist, Zacarias Moussaui. He is the editorial and coding consultant for DSM-5, the chief technical and editorial consultant on the WHO’s ICD-11 revision project, and is an external consultant to the NIMH Research Domain Criteria project.

Dr First got his undergraduate degree in electrical engineering and computer science from Princeton University. He earned a Masters in computer science and his MD from the University of Pittsburgh, did his psychiatry residency at Columbia University, and completed a fellowship in Biometrics Research under the direction of his mentor, Dr Robert Spitzer. He has been involved in various DSM publications. He recently published DSM-5 Handbook for Differential Diagnosis and is the lead author of the recently revised Structured Clinical Interview for DSM-5 (SCID-5).

Jerald Kay, MD, was Fredrick A. White Distinguished Professor at the Boonshoft School of Medicine at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio, where he is now Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry. He is Clinical Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at Tulane University School of Medicine. A general and child and adolescent psychiatrist, Dr Kay is also a Fellow of the American College of Psychiatrists and a Distinguished Life Fellow of the APA. He is the founding Editor of The Journal of Psychotherapy Practice and Research; Associate Editor of the American Journal of Psychotherapy. He is the author of over 200 articles and book chapters, and coauthor of numerous books, including Mental Health Care in the College Community.

Dr Kay was designated an Exemplary Psychiatrist by the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill, has been honored as Psychiatric Educator of the Year by the Association for Academic Psychiatry, and won the 2001 APA-NIMH Seymour Vestermark Award for contributions to psychiatric education. He continues an active teaching, writing, and patient care schedule while playing tuba and drums in four bands in Cincinnati.

Thomas Kosten, MD, is JH Waggoner Chair and Professor of Psychiatry, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Immunology & Pathology. He is also Co-Director of the Dan L. Duncan Institute for Clinical and Translational Research at Baylor College of Medicine, Michael E. DeBakey Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Houston. What’s more, he is Distinguished Professor at Peking University Medical School and Professor of Epidemiology and Behavioral Health at MD Anderson Cancer Prevention Center. Dr Kosten is the founding Vice Chair for Addiction Psychiatry of the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology. He is Editor of The American Journal on Addictions.

A Distinguished Life Fellow of the APA, Dr Kosten has published over 600 papers, books, and reviews. In his spare time(!), he enjoys yoga, golf, singing in the church choir and . . . until the past few years . . . figure skating with his wife. The two, he reports, joined together as a competitive team almost 50 years ago.