Psychiatric Times Vol 19 No 3

home / journals / psychiatric-times / psychiatric-times-vol-19-no-3

Site Logo


March 1st 2002

Jose R. Maldonado, M.D., assistant professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at Stanford University, was named the 2001 recipient of the Psychiatric Times Teacher of the Year award. The award was presented to Maldonado at the 14th Annual U.S. Psychiatric & Mental Health Congress in honor of his outstanding achievements in and steadfast dedication to psychiatry. For his work with geriatric psychiatry, Dilip V. Jeste, M.D., has been appointed to the endowed Estelle and Edgar Levi Memorial Chair in Aging at University of California, San Diego (UCSD). Jeste is founder and chief of UCSD's division of geriatric psychiatry and Founding President of the International College of Geriatric Psychoneuropharmacology. He focuses his research on schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders in late life and their successful treatment with the use of safer and more effective drug and psychosocial treatments.Helping people of all ages with schizophrenia to reintegrate into society is the focus of the Eli Lilly and Company-sponsored Reintegration Awards. Recognizing both patient advocates and mental health care professionals, these awards provide grants for their recipients' respective reintegration programs. In the Honorary category, the 2001 "Public Eye Recipient" is Elizabeth Baxter, M.D., a Tennessee-based psychiatrist who, while suffering from psychosis herself, is a mental health advocate on the national level. The 2001 Reintegration Awards were also given in the categories of Advocacy (New Jersey Association for Mental Health Agencies Inc. in Manasquan, N.J.), Clinical Medicine (The Whole Person Family Medicine Clinic in Torrance, Calif.), Education (The Guidance Center Supported Education Program in New Rochelle, N.Y.), Housing (Fred Geilfuss, Scott Reithel, Jack Rosenberg in Milwaukee), Occupational (Restoration Project in Acton, Mass.) and Social Support/Rehabilitation (Fountain House in New York City).

© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.